top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureglutenfreebykathleen

Southwestern Salad with Grilled Mexican Corn

I am trying to eat healthier so when my boyfriend wanted tacos on Saturday I decided to make a salad instead with the taco ingredients for a lower calorie option. I'd say the highlight of the dish was the grilled Mexican corn. I totally ate the leftovers for breakfast the next day with an egg on top... which is my favorite thing to do with leftovers! Below is what I put together for my Southwestern Salad but if I had red onion or a salad verde on hand I would've totally added those ingredients as well!


Ingredients

- 10 oz. lettuce (I used arugula)

- 2 grilled or sauteed chicken breasts (see Tips section below)

- 1 avocado

- 1 can of reduced sodium black beans, drained and washed

- Grilled Mexican Corn (see recipe below)

- 4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (evoo)

- Fresh squeezed juice of 2 limes

- Salt and pepper, to taste

- Tabasco chipotle pepper sauce, to taste


Instructions

1. Whisk evoo, lime juice, salt and pepper and set aside dressing.

2. Add remaining ingredients into a bowl, add dressing and toss.


Tips

Check out my Quick and Juicy Chicken post

Check out my Kitchen Things post: # 3 Hand Held Citrus Juicer


Mexican Grill Corn


Ingredients

- 4 ears corn, husks removed

- 2 tablespoons of room temperature butter

- 1 tsp paprika

- 1 tsp salt

- 1 jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped

- 1/4 cup chopped cilantro

- Fresh squeezed juice of 1/2 lime

- 1/4 cup cheese (cotija, feta, Parmesan, or shredded Monterey Jack)


Instructions

1. While the grill is heating, mix butter and spices and coat the ears of corn.

2. Grill the corn until all sides are slightly charred.

3. Let corn cool until you can touch. Stand up an ear of corn in the middle of a large bowl and then use sharp knife to cut along the cob. Repeat for remaining ears of corn.

4. Add remaining ingredients and mix.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page