top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureglutenfreebykathleen

Mexican Quinoa Bowl

I always have a Costco size supply of quinoa at home. I like using this superfood because it's so versatile. I enjoy eating it cold or hot and basically use leftover ingredients to inspire what I add to my quinoa. Cinco de Mayo inspired me to make this Mexican quinoa bowl. It turned out delicious! Hope you enjoy!


Quinoa Ingredients

- 1/2 cup quinoa

- 1 cup chicken or vegetable broth

- 1 pound chicken tenders

- Salt and pepper to taste

- 2 tablespoons paprika

- 1/2 cup red bell pepper, julienned

- 1/2 cup red onion, thinly sliced

- 1/3 cup crumbled cotija

- 2 avocados diced*

- 1 lime


Dressing Ingredients

- 1/4 cup of oil (I use extra virgin olive oil (evoo) but would also recommend avocado oil)

- Juice of 1 lime

- 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard

- Dash of garlic powder

- Salt and pepper to taste


Instructions

1. Combine quinoa and broth in a small sauce pan. Cover and heat until boiling. Remove from heat and let sit until the broth is absorbed (~17 minutes). Fluff quinoa with fork and let cool.

2. While quinoa is cooking, season both sides of chicken tenders with salt, pepper, and paprika. Heat large pan with oil (I prefer evoo) and saute chicken on both sides around 5 minutes each. Remove chicken from pan and let sit at least 5 minutes before dicing chicken.

3. Season red bell pepper and onion with salt and pepper and saute until onion is translucent.

4. Whisk dressing ingredients in a small bowl.

5. Mix quinoa, chicken, vegetables, cotija, avocado* and juice of 1 lime in a large bowl. Add dressing and mix to coat.


*If serving for a large group, I'd dice all of the avocado and add. If you're preparing this dish for meal prep, I add the avocado before I'm ready to eat. I usually use 1/2 avocado per serving.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page