top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureglutenfreebykathleen

Fried Rice

Updated: May 25, 2023

  • I've been on a fried rice/stir fry kick lately. I basically throw in whatever veggies and protein I have on hand and stick with the same seasoning and it's always delicious! I also have a tip below for reheating frozen veggies. Let me know what you think!


Ingredients

- 1 Tablespoon coconut oil

- 3/4 cup coconut flakes

- 1-2 cups chilled, cooked brown rice.

  • Note: You could also use white rice or cauliflower rice but I prefer brown rice. I would rather have more veggies in my stir fry so I lean more towards using less rice.

- 2 cups cooked, seasoned vegetables. (I love veggies so don't think you can go wrong with adding more than 2 cups.)

  • Here are some veggie combo suggestions:

    • Frozen stir fry vegetables. Tip: Put a Tablespoon of coconut oil on a baking sheet and place in oven while it preheats to 450 degrees F. When oven is ready, add frozen vegetables to the hot pan and roast for 15-20 minutes. I would suggest adding a fresh vegetable in addition to the frozen vegetables for more crunch, like sautéed bell peppers.

    • Fresh stir fry vegetables like broccoli, green beans or snap peas, carrots, water chestnuts, red bell pepper

    • Kale, shredded brussel sprouts, bell pepper, onion

- 2 scrambled eggs, optional

- 1 cup cooked protein, optional. (I like chicken, crispy tofu, or shrimp.)

- 2 Tablespoons coconut aminos or gluten-free soy sauce

- 2 Tablespoons chili garlic sauce

- Juice of 1/2 lime


Instructions

1. Heat oil in wok or large sauté pan. Add coconut flakes and stir until gold brown, about 30 seconds.

2. Add chilled rice and stir until rice is hot.

3. Add remaining ingredients and mix well. Cook until all food is hot.

4. Add more coconut aminos/gluten-free soy sauce or chili garlic sauce according to taste preference.



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page